Orange County Arson Attorney
CALIFORNIA PENAL CODES 451 & 452
Penalties for arson in California depend on the type of property damaged, whether someone was injured, and whether you set the fire “willfully and maliciously” or “recklessly,” among other factors. If you’re charged with arson in California, get help immediately from experienced attorney Simon Budhwani, Esq.
“Reckless burning” of personal property under California Penal Code 452 is usually a misdemeanor but may be charged as a felony if you burn a building or forest land or cause great bodily injury. Willful or malicious arson under California Penal Code 451 is always a felony. Get help immediately from an experienced Orange County arson attorney today. Potential sentences for willful or malicious arson are:
– 16 to 36 months for willful or malicious arson of personal property
– 2 to 6 years for willful or malicious arson of a structure or forest land
– 3 to 8 years for willful or malicious arson of an inhabited structure or property
– 5 to 9 years for willful or malicious arson causing great bodily injury
Willful or malicious arson convictions carry a fine of up to $10,000. If you commit arson for profit, you may also be fined $50,000 or twice the amount of your anticipated gain. Reckless arson of personal property is usually a misdemeanor; potential penalties are 6 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000. However, reckless arson may be considered a felony if you burn a building or forest land or cause great bodily injury. Get help immediately from an experienced Orange County arson attorney today. Penalties are:
– for reckless arson of a structure or forest land, up to 6 months in jail (for a misdemeanor) or 16 to 36 months in prison (for a felony);
– for reckless arson of an inhabited structure or inhabited property, up to a year in jail (for a misdemeanor) or 2 to 4 years in prison (for a felony);
– for reckless arson causing great bodily injury, up to a year in jail (for a misdemeanor) or 2 to 6 years in prison (for a felony);
California enhances penalties for “aggravated” arson. It’s an additional 1 to 5 years in prison if:
– you have a prior felony arson conviction
– a firefighter, police officer, or other emergency personnel suffers great bodily injury
– more than one person suffers great bodily injury
– you burn multiple structures
– you use a device to accelerate the fire or delay ignition
In addition, these “aggravating factors” may cause a judge to impose a longer sentence. In egregious cases, that sentence can be 10 years to life:
– you set a fire in retaliation against a person you believed owned the structure.
– you intentionally burned a church, synagogue, or other place of worship.
– you intended to damage an inhabited structure or injure others.
– you had a prior arson conviction in the last ten 10 years.
– the fire caused damage worth over $5,650,000 (including fire suppression costs).
– you damaged five or more inhabited structures.
THE EXPERIENCED HELP YOU NEED
If you face any arson charge in southern California, call, experienced attorney, Simon Budhwani, Esq. immediately at 714-249-2788 or email us today at: firstname.lastname@example.org.