Orange County Domestic Violence Attorney

CALIFORNIA PENAL CODES 273.5, 243(e)(1), 273(d), & 422

In California, it’s against the law to commit an assault, a battery, or to make a criminal threat against anyone. Get help from an Orange County domestic violence attorney immediately. When the alleged victim is a fiancè, spouse, cohabitant, dating partner, or the parent of your child, California domestic violence laws make the accusation much more serious. Most California courts will impose some amount of jail time on those convicted of domestic violence even if it’s your first offense and the charge is a misdemeanor. If you’re accused of any domestic violence crime in southern California, consult immediately with experienced, Orange County domestic violence attorney, Simon Budhwani, Esq.

PENALTIES

The most common domestic violence crimes in California are:

Corporal Injury on an Intimate Partner under California Penal Code 273.5: This is striking a domestic partner in way that that causes any visible injury; it may be charged as a misdemeanor or as a felony. A conviction on the misdemeanor charge carries a sentence of up to a year in jail and/or a fine of up to $6,000. A conviction on the felony charge carries a prison term of 2 to 4 years.

Domestic Battery under California Penal Code 243(e)(1): Domestic battery is any willful and unlawful touching that is harmful or offensive. It’s a misdemeanor; a conviction carries a sentence of up to a year in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,000.

Child Abuse under California Penal Code 273(d): Physically injuring or imposing cruel physical punishment on a child is child abuse. Child abuse may be charged as a misdemeanor or as a felony. A conviction on the misdemeanor count carries a sentence of up to a year in jail. A conviction on the felony charge carries a prison term of 2 to 6 years, but it can be more if you have a previous child abuse conviction.

Criminal Threats under California Penal Code 422: A criminal threat happens when you threaten to kill or physically harm someone, unequivocally and specifically, and the threatened person is put in a state of reasonably sustained fear for his or her safety or the safety of his or her immediate family. The crime may be charged as a misdemeanor or as a felony. A conviction on the misdemeanor count carries a sentence of up to a year in jail. A conviction on the felony charge carries a prison term of up to 4 years. Using a dangerous or deadly weapon to make a criminal threat increases the sentence by a year.

OBTAIN HELP AT ONCE

You may have acted in self-defense, or you may be the victim of an entirely false accusation, but if you are charged with any domestic violence crime in southern California, obtain legal representation at once and call, Orange County domestic violence attorney, Simon Budhwani, Esq. immediately at 714-249-2788 or email us today at: [email protected]