Orange County Drug Related DUI Lawyer
CALIFORNIA PENAL CODE 23152(a)
If you’re driving in southern California and you’re stopped by a police officer who thinks you’re intoxicated by a drug or a substance other than alcohol, he or she may call for a Drug Recognition Evaluator (DRE). A DRE is an officer trained to look for signs that someone is high on a drug other than alcohol. If the DRE determines that you’re intoxicated, you will be arrested for suspicion of driving under the influence of drugs (DUID). If you’re charged with DUID or DUI in southern California, consult immediately with experienced Orange County drug related DUI lawyer Simon Budhwani, Esq. California law defines “drugs” as any substance other than alcohol that could affect your nervous system, brain, or driving ability; this includes illegal drugs, prescription drugs, and over-the-counter products.
The penalties for a typical, first-offense misdemeanor DUID conviction under California Vehicle Code 23152(a) include:
– three to five years on probation and up to six months in jail
– a six-month’s driver’s license suspension
– fines up to $1,000, penalties up to $2,710, and a variety of additional fees
– completion of a substance-abuse education program
DUID is typically a misdemeanor, but it can be charged as a felony if it’s your fourth or subsequent DUI-related offense within ten years, if you have a prior felony DUI conviction, or if you cause an accident that injures or kills someone. If you’re convicted for felony DUID, penalties can include:
– 16 to 36 months in prison
– 3 to 5 years on supervised probation
– up to $4,500 in fines, penalties, fees, and assessments
– a 4-year driver’s license revocation
– a 30-month alcohol education program
If you kill or injure someone while DUID, you could serve up to five years in prison. A DUID felony conviction will also affect your voting right, your right to own a firearm, and if you’re an immigrant, your ability to stay in the United States. Get help from a Orange County drug related DUI lawyer today.
THE BEST HOPE FOR JUSTICE
Because there is no legally established, measurable level of intoxication for drugs other than alcohol, a DUID charge is usually more difficult for prosecutors to prove. If you are charged with DUID in southern California, your best hope for justice is an experienced Orange County drug related DUI lawyer who’s successfully handled similar cases. If you face any DUI charge or DUID charge in southern California, call Simon Budhwani, Esq. immediately at 714-249-2788 or email us today at: email@example.com.