Orange County DUI Lawyer

CALIFORNIA VEHICLE CODES 23152(a) and 23152(b)

In California, DUI is treated as a serious crime, and punishments are designed to deter offenders from committing it again. With each subsequent conviction, offenders face increasingly severe penalties. If you’re charged with DUI in southern California – whether you’re a first-time offender or facing a subsequent DUI offense – you’re going to need effective legal help for an Orange County DUI lawyer. Discuss your case at once with experienced DUI lawyer Simon Budhwani, Esq. This page explains the penalties for the “typical” misdemeanor DUI in California, but Mr. Budhwani represents all clients charged with DUI and DUI-related offenses including:

– Drug-related DUI, California Vehicle Code 23152(a)
– Felony DUI, California Vehicle Code 23513
– Underage DUI, California Vehicle Codes 23136, 23140, and 23152

PENALTIES

In most cases in California under California Vehicle Codes 23152(a) and 23152(b), for a misdemeanor first-time DUI conviction with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level below 0.2 percent, the maximum penalties can include:

– Three to five years on probation and up to six months in jail
– A six-month’s driver’s license suspension
– Fines up to $1,000, penalties up to $2,710, and a variety of additional fees
– Completion of an alcohol education program

These are maximum penalties. Some counties also require you to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed on your personal vehicle after a first conviction. Additional penalties may be imposed if your BAC level was over 0.2 percent, if you injured someone, or if you had a child in your car. For a second DUI, the fines and penalties listed above are increased, plus you’ll face:

– Up to a year in jail
– Vehicle impoundment for 30 days
– An 18-month driver’s license suspension
– Mandatory IID installation and use

For a third DUI conviction, all of these penalties increase, and you face:

– A license revocation for up to 4 years
– Completion of a 30-month alcohol treatment program
– Up to 120 days in jail
– Mandatory IID installation and use

An experienced Orange County DUI lawyer will protect your rights and fight aggressively for the best possible resolution to your DUI case. If you face any DUI charge or DUI-related charge in southern California, call, experienced Orange Orange County DUI lawyer, Simon Budhwani, Esq. immediately at 714-249-2788 or email us today at: [email protected]