Orange County Hit and Run Lawyer
CALIFORNIA VEHICLE CODES 20001 & 20002
The circumstances of a hit-and-run – and your reaction – are crucial in California hit-and-run cases. California charges hit-and-run offenses as misdemeanors or as felonies depending on the type of damage involved. You may be charged with misdemeanor hit-and-run if someone else’s property was damaged and you leave the scene of an accident without identifying yourself. If there’s an injury or fatality, a hit-and-run is almost always charged as a felony in California. Call experienced lawyer Simon Budhwani, Esq. immediately if you are charged with either felony or misdemeanor hit-and-run in southern California.
If you’re convicted in California of misdemeanor hit-and-run under California Vehicle Code 20002, you face any or all these penalties:
– up to 3 years on probation
– up to 6 months in jail
– up to $1,000 in fines along with court-assessed penalties
– restitution to any victim(s) whose property you damaged
– two points on your driving record
If it’s your first offense and there are no aggravating circumstances, you may be allowed a “civil compromise,” and the misdemeanor hit-and-run charge can be dismissed after you fully reimburse the person(s) whose property you damaged. Contact an experienced Orange County hit and run lawyer for help with your case today. Despite its name, California ‘felony” hit-and-run can be charged, at the prosecutor’s discretion, as a misdemeanor or as a felony. If you are convicted of felony hit-and-run under California Vehicle Code 20001, the penalties include:
– a fine of $1,000 to $10,000
– up to 3 years in prison in most cases
– up to 4 years in prison if the accident resulted in a death or a “serious” physical injury
If a “felony” hit-and-run is charged instead as a misdemeanor and you’re convicted, the jail time will not be more than a year.
GET THE HELP YOU NEED IMMEDIATELY
If you face any hit-and-run charge in southern California, put an experienced Orange County hit and run lawyer to work for you. If you were confused, if you were unaware of the accident when it occurred, or if it was another driver at fault and you’ve been wrongly accused, we will make sure that your side of the story is fully told and clearly understood. Call, Orange County hit and run lawyer, Simon Budhwani, Esq. immediately at 714-249-2788 or email us today at: [email protected]