Orange County Marijuana Possession Attorney

CALIFORNIA HEALTH & SAFETY CODES 11357, 11358, 11359, 11360 & 11361

Although marijuana laws used to be simple, today marijuana law is one of the most complicated legal fields in California, and more changes are expected. California is one of two dozen states that have legalized marijuana for medical use. Yet the recreational use of marijuana is still illegal in this state, and selling marijuana can still subject you to serious criminal penalties. In southern California, if you are charged with the possession or sale of marijuana or with any other marijuana-related criminal offense, get legal help at once and contact experienced Orange County marijuana possession attorney Simon Budhwani, Esq.

PENALTIES

Simple possession of not more than 28.5 grams of marijuana (other than “concentrated” cannabis) is a non-criminal infraction in California punishable by a maximum $100 fine and no jail time under California Health and Safety Code 11357. Possession of more than 28.5 grams for personal use is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $500. Possession of any amount of marijuana on the premises of a public school is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 10 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $500. Possession of any amount with the intent to sell is a felony punishable by 16 to 36 months in jail under California Health and Safety Code 11359.

The sale or delivery of any amount of marijuana is a felony punishable by 2 to 4 years in prison under California Health and Safety Code 11360, with the exception of a “gift” of less than 28.5 ounces, which is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum $100 fine and no jail time. However, the sale or delivery of any amount of marijuana to a minor is a felony punishable by 3 to 7 years in prison under California Health and Safety Code 11361.

The illegal cultivation of any amount of marijuana is a felony punishable by 16 to 36 months in jail under California Health and Safety Code 11358. Any controlled substance conviction in California can also result in the suspension of your driving privilege.

OUR ORANGE COUNTY MARIJUANA POSSESSION ATTORNEYS HELP YOU THROUGH

Marijuana laws are rapidly changing in California and across the country. If you’re charged with the possession, sale, or cultivation of marijuana in California, now or in the future, you’ll need a knowledgeable defense attorney who knows what it takes to win justice on your behalf. In southern California, if you face any marijuana charge, call, experienced Orange County marijuana possession attorney, Simon Budhwani, Esq. immediately at 714-249-2788 or email us today at: [email protected]