Orange County Stolen Property Possession Lawyer
CALIFORNIA PENAL CODE 496
The law in California imposes harsh criminal penalties on people who buy, receive, conceal, sell, or otherwise withhold from the owner any property that they know has been stolen. “Stolen property” means any property that has been stolen in any way: through grand theft, petty theft, embezzlement, or through extortion. In southern California, if you’re accused of receiving stolen property, do not plead guilty and do not try to act as your own attorney. Instead, get the legal help you need right away and speak with experienced Orange County stolen property possession lawyer Simon Budhwani, Esq.
The crime of receiving stolen property may be charged as either a misdemeanor or as a felony in California under California Penal Code 496. If you’re convicted of a misdemeanor charge, the sentence is a jail term of no more than a year and a fine of up to $1,000. If you’re convicted of a felony charge, you’ll face the possibility of incarceration for 16 to 36 months and a fine of up to $10,000.
In many cases, you may be punished as harshly for receiving stolen property as for stealing it in the first place. However, there are a number of defenses that a good Orange County stolen property possession lawyer may offer on your behalf, including “innocent intent” (you intended to return the stolen property to the owner upon receiving it) and “voluntary intoxication” (you were intoxicated and did not have the criminal intent needed to convict you of the charge).
THE BEST POSSIBLE DEFENSE
After evaluating your case and circumstances, an experienced lawyer can explain your legal options and begin to develop the best possible criminal defense on your behalf. If you are charged with receiving stolen property, hire a good Orange County stolen property possession lawyer with proven experience and success. In southern California, call Simon Budhwani, Esq. immediately at 714-249-2788 or email us today at: firstname.lastname@example.org.