Orange County Underage DUI Lawyer
CALIFORNIA VEHICLE CODES 23136, 23140 & 23152
California has zero tolerance for underage drinking and driving. If you are under the age of 21, and you are driving with any detectable alcohol in your system, you can be convicted in California for underage DUI. If you – or your teenager – is charged with underage DUI in southern California, get immediate legal help from experienced Orange County underage DUI lawyer Simon Budhwani, Esq. Penalties vary for young people convicted of underage DUI. The punishment typically hinges on the driver’s level of intoxication and whether any other driving violations, damage, or injuries occurred.
As a stand-alone charge under California Vehicle Code 23136, a conviction for underage DUI is not a criminal conviction, and the sole penalty is a one-year driver’s license suspension. However, if you are an underage driver and your blood alcohol content (BAC) level measures at 0.05 percent or higher, if it’s your first offense under California Vehicle Code 23140, you’ll be looking at a one-year suspension of your driver’s license, a fine of $100, and if you’re 18 or over, a mandatory alcohol education program lasting three months or more.
The penalties go up if you’re found guilty of “standard” or adult DUI, that is, if you’re convicted of driving with a BAC level at 0.08 percent or higher under California Vehicle Code 23152. Standard DUI is a misdemeanor under California law. Penalties for first-time “standard” DUI offenders can include:
– suspension of your driver’s license
– three to five years of probation
– fines from $390 to $1,000
– a 3-month to 9-month alcohol and/or drug education program
– up to 6 months in jail
Underage drivers who drink and also use drugs can face a number of different charges. Drivers of all ages will face additional misdemeanor or felony charges if they injure or kill someone while driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If you’ve been charged with DUI, let our DUI lawyers go to work for you.
DON’T PLEAD GUILTY
Convictions for underage California DUI must be reported on college and employment applications under the criminal history section. The conviction also counts toward your criminal history if you are subsequently convicted of a federal crime. Don’t plead guilty. If you or your teenager has been charged with underage DUI in southern California, put an experienced Orange County underage DUI lawyer to work for you. Call, Orange County underage DUI lawyer, Simon Budhwani, Esq. right away at 714-249-2788 or email us today at: email@example.com.